Nation of Wimps & Helicopter Parenting

Image

This article is my mother in a nutshell.  I love her to death, do not get me wrong, but my mother and father have micromanaged just about every aspect of my life, up until coming to Ball State.  They hate that I am so far away and they keep telling me I need to apply for jobs back in Wisconsin.  They would love for me to move back home and sit on the couch for the rest of my life too, but that isn’t going to happen.

I believe most of this behavior, at least in the case of my parents, stems from my brother.  My brother was diagnosed as Autistic when he was 16 or 17.  My mother and father knew he wasn’t “normal” from an early age and took him to doctor after doctor until he was diagnosed.  My mother quit her job and became a stay-at-home mom.  Basically that meant she just took care of my brother, I was never much trouble.  My mother did everything for him because she had to.  She tries to do the same thing with me but she does not realize that I do not need that. 

To bring it full circle, I believe that is why a lot of this conversation on “wimps” is happening.  Children are being diagnosed with disorders and then parents think they have to coddle their children because of it.  The children then cannot accomplish anything on their own, like my brother.  My mom thought it was a big deal over winter break when he microwaved pizza bagel bites for himself for dinner.  MOM!  He is 25 years old!

America is so afraid of failing their children they cannot see the ways in which they have already failed us.  Generation on a Tightrope talks about the increase in helicopter/lawnmower parents “because they roll over everything in their paths to ‘defend’ their cubs” (pg. 79).  In doing so you are fighting all your children’s battles for them.  How is that helping them?  One day you will be gone and the child will be like a zoo animal released into the wild.  He or she is doomed before their lives have even started because they do not know how to hunt or how to defend themselves.

Leave a Reply

